« Back to News & Notices

Pawnee RWD#2 Breaks Ground on New Water Treatment Plant!

We have officially broke ground on a new $4.2 Million Dollar Water Treatment Plant here in Terlton, Ok.  Our district had our Ground Breaking Ceremony May 29th, 2020, at the new facility.

After 10 years of planning, our District is proud to bring a new Treatment Plant to our community, without the need to raise rates or assess a new fee to our members due to the planning from our Board of Directors and help from the USDA.  Our district currently purchases water from the Lone Chimney Association.  We will continue to do so after our facility is finished but at lower quantities.

The severe drought that was in the area in 2007 prompted our district to look at new water sources. The drought ended, but the planning continued after feasibility studies indicated the benefits to our community for local water.  A major benefit of a local plant is the reduction of TTHM and HAA5 disinfection byproducts.

House Representative Ty Burnes attended the ceremony, "Not having to rely on an outside entity is very important to the rural community.  Especially during times of drought when water sources are scarce," he said.

During the years of planning, our district has had 4 different Chairmen serving on our Board of Directors.  They all worked toward the same goal. Our current Chairman Angela Frew said "I would like to thank the leadership before me, especially former Chairmen Jimmy Green, Donald Sissom, and Carroll Boze.  These gentlemen have done an excellent job in staying with the project and working with the USDA and EPA for our community. I would also like to thank Alicia Farris with the USDA for her guidance and hard work for our district."  USDA Area Specialist, Alicia Farris, played a key role guiding our district through requirements, funding, and grants for the project.  Our district was granted 1.463 Million Dollars for this project.  Meyers Engineering will be overseeing the construction. 

Photographed Left to Right

  • Angela Hasty, Financial Officer
  • Attorney Ken Privett
  • Jon Harrod, Operations Manager
  • Angela Frew, Chairman of the Board
  • Ty Burnes, House of Representative for District 35
  • Carroll Boze, former Chairman of the Board
  • Board Members Joe Browne, Marilyn Braden, Stephen Babcock
  • Paul Gunderson Site Inspector
  • Jacob Jones, District Operator